I have always had vivid dreams. Sometimes so vivid that I wake up in the middle of the night, no not screaming like they show in the movies. But I’ve woken up crying silently. And unfortunately it’s mostly the sad, unhappy dreams that stick to my long-term memory.

I’ve dreamt of apocalypses so frequently that I feel as if it’s a premonition. I’ve dreamt of zombies, snakes and people dying. And if I was asked to choose which is the worst of them, I’d choose to suffer any other way than watching my loved ones die. Because in the dreams you don’t realize that you’re dreaming. You feel as if you’re living it in real time.

People have a lot to say about dreams. Like it’s auspicious if you dream about fish, whereas dreaming about money is a bad sign. The most funny one is that if you dream of pooping, it means money is coming your way.

And perhaps the only upside about dreaming my worst nightmare is that people say when you dream about a loved one dying, their lifespan increases. “उनकी उम्र बढ़ जाती है” like my mother would say. And even though I don’t believe in such tales, I think it’s a nice coping mechanism to make you feel good about what you saw. And I’d rather believe in this superstition any day.

Do you see vivid dreams? What was the most memorable/funny one you saw?


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started