“I think this is why writing happened to me. I never wanted to become a writer but I became one only so that another story of trauma does not get lost, so that through my story I can tell the stories of all the children who suffered the way I did, or worse.”

Manjiri Indurkar

How do I write a review for a memoir on mental health? Will it be enough that I ask you to read this book so that, quoting Indurkar’s words, another story of trauma does not get lost?

Over there years, subconsciously the author kept all her dark secrets behind locked doors with the hope that they’d leave her in peace. But she didn’t know they’d come back to haunt her in uglier forms. And it did, a minor stomach bug reopened old wounds— of trauma and sexual abuse, the anxiety and the depression that followed after that.

it’s all in your head, m by Manjiri Indurkar

She takes us through phases of her life, showing the good and the bad, the happy days as well as sad, to her journey of understanding her mind and her body, finding a good therapist, coming to terms with her illness and living with it day after day.

It’s not an easy path and your heart will bleed reading this, but it is also a story of hope, grit and perseverance teaching us that sometimes, when the going gets tough we just need to focus on taking one step at a time.

What I loved about this book were the literary references! And the poems written by the author herself were very impactful too.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started